I’m just resting. I swear.

I’ve woken up at the god-forsaken hour of 6 am, 3 days in a row to go for a run and I’m already prematurely calling myself a runner. I’m pretty much setting myself up for failure.
I’d like to say that I came to a place of self discovery and enlightenment which evolved into a complete examination and overhaul of my life and health where I find myself compelled to wake up for a brisk run each day.

But that’s a load of crap.

Truth is, my 36 year old cousin, who is probably in better shape than any 20 year old, challenged me to run a 5k in 10 weeks. And my pride accepted. Not me, my pride.  I would have never accepted this challenge. Why? Because I DON’T RUN! I’m not really a person who takes to sweating very much. I kinda hate it in fact. And even as I write this I’m quite surprised that I’m not texting her at this very moment to say, “You win! I give up!”

Its the pride again.

For the record, I can’t even run a mile without stopping several times and panting like a dog who hasn’t had a drink of water in 6 days. I’m not even joking. If you drive by my street and see me collapsed on the sidewalk, keep going…I’m just resting. I swear.
So I guess I will continue to ravage myself for 10 more weeks until this is done. My body is killing me. I’m walking like an old lady, but not in public. I’m a runner after all and I have a reputation to uphold.

October 1st… I WILL OWN YOU!

This entry was posted in Things I Say. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m just resting. I swear.

  1. Joy.Mac says:

    Oh geesh, Elaine.

  2. Wendy says:

    First of all….let me just say that the title of ur blog is so catchy and witty. LOVE it :)!!! Second of all…. I laughed my head off reading your first post!! Omg – so stinkin’ funny!!! I could totally hear you ( in my head of course) telling the story. Hilarious!

  3. Patsy says:

    LOL! Loved this…love you even more!

  4. Pingback: I’m Losing Steam | Single woman. Double life.

Leave a Reply

