Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies Y’all!

This is by far the best chocolate chip cookie recipe I’ve come across. I had never made anything with browned butter before and now I want to attempt to change every recipe that calls for butter to now have BROWNED BUTTER in it. Its beyond wonderful. I’ve made these cookies a few times just to make sure I’ve perfected the recipe and bake temp/time with my billion year old oven.

And even in this old geezer without a window I’m able to bake these suckers to perfection.

I don’t usually give out the recipes I use unless someone asks for it, no – BEGS for it. None of them are my own, I’m a total recipe plagiarizer (thats a word right?), but hell yes I will try to pass it off as a One-Of -A-Kind Elaine creation! I’m feeling the love tonight – maybe its just a sugar high – nevertheless I feel like passing along my new favorite recipe, Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.
I’m pretty sure you could have just googled it.

I never follow recipes exactly. Even when I was a kid I always thought that 1/2 cup was pretty much just the same as 3/4 cup when measuring ingredients. While that may not matter with some ingredients, it really, really does with others. So take my advice with caution. Also, I don’t have these pretty step-by-step photo instructions to guide you along the way. My bad. I’m not a food blogger y’all – I just like eating yummy stuff.
Ok ready go!

  • 1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 14 tbsp unsalted butter (1 3/4 sticks)
  • 1/2 c white sugar
    I use organic because I’m semi-pretentious. 
  • 3/4 c packed brown sugar
    I like the 1/4 cup pre-portioned packs because I’m lazy. Yes. 
  • 1 tsp salt
    Try using non-iodized sea salt. When you bite into a big piece of salt at the same time as a chocolate chip your mouth goes ballistic!
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg + 1 large egg yolk
    If you get any of the second egg white in there you will be fired. 
  • 1 1/4 c chocolate chips
    Ok see now this is where that 1/2 cup vs 3/4 cup rule doesn’t really apply. I use roughly 1 cup milk chocolate chips and about 1/2 cup ish peanut butter chips. Sometimes 1 cup each. Just depends on how much I got in the pantry.
  • optional: 3/4 c chopped pecans or walnuts
    Nuts are not optional. Ever. Unless you have an allergy. Then you are excused. ALWAYS ADD NUTS TO COOKIES. 

1. Preheat oven to 375
Because I got old bertha baking up my cookies I have to drop the temp down 25 degrees and hold the bake time by 2 minutes. Every oven is different so adjust accordingly if the first batch doesn’t come out just the way you like it.

2. Line two large baking sheets with parchment or silicone baking mats. Sift or whisk together the flour and baking soda in a medium bowl.

This is where the awesomeness begins – are you ready?

3. Put 10 tbsp of the butter in a medium skillet set over medium high heat. Allow the butter to melt for 2 minutes and swirl it around the pan, allowing it to brown. Make sure to keep the butter moving so it doesn’t burn.  You’ll know it’s done when it smells nutty and it has a dark golden brown color. Golden brown y’all, not muddy brown. That mess is burned by then! 

4. Remove the pan from the heat and pour the butter to a large, heatsafe mixing bowl. Add the remaining 4 tbsp of cold butter to the melted butter and stir gently until it is melted.

5. Add the white sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and salt to the butter and whisk the ingredients together. Add the egg and egg yolk and whisk again until mixture is smooth. Allow the batter to rest for 3 minutes, then whisk again for about a minute. The mixture should be thick and shiny.

Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined, about 1 minute. Gently stir in chocolate chips and nuts – the batter will be soft so don’t freak out if its not as tough as regular cookie dough.

Using a #24 cookie scoop, place cookies about 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets. If you don’t have a cookie scoop, go buy one! Don’t be cheap, they are like 4 bucks!

Bake one tray at a time, 10 to 14 minutes, on the middle rack of your oven. Check cookies at 10 minutes; you want them to be golden brown and set around the edges, but puffy in the middle.

Allow to cool on the pan for about 1 minute, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Halleluyer!

This entry was posted in baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies Y’all!

  1. Dang dude!! Muy impressivo!! You are a baking queen! 😀

Leave a Reply

